Will You Forgive Me? Apology From Death Row. Edward Lang.

Edward was accused of not behaving appropriately at court. He has cursed the victim’s family at the trial. I talked to Eddie about it, he deeply regret the things he said, but he had just learned that he was going to die. Anger and disappointment in the system has overcome him. He told me that family members of the victims tried to get in touch with him, which his former Lawyer did not allow, nor did he mention anything about that to Eddie.  Eddie learned about it only a few years later. He asked me to pass a letter to a family member of the victims…

Dear (Names can not be made public in respect of the families privacy)

I hope that this email finds you and your loved ones in good health as well as in good spirits…I would like to start this off with a sincere apology to you and your loved ones for what role I played in what led to Mernell Cheek being murdered. I regret that I was involved in anyway with what occurred that night, and I hope that you can embrace my apology within your heart and one day forgive me. I would like to say that there is a lot that went on that night that has not only been misunderstood, but has not been spoken in truth in regards to what it is that I am convicted for. Though I take full responsibility for my roles in this situation, I have from day one tried to let it be known that I did not kill Ms. Cheek or Jaron. I sit condemned for something that Antonio Walker did and blamed on me. For a long time I carried a lot of anger, bitterness, and confusion in my heart because of this. But as I stand today, I can’t be angry with any one except for myself because I took apart in what led to this happening in the first place. I never intended for anyone to be hurt, and I wish that things never happened in anyway that it did. At my sentencing I said some things to Jaron’s family that I shouldn’t have said. I felt like I was being attacked and wanted to say something back in response to being attacked because I had just received a death sentenced for two murders that I didn’t commit, but that is no excuse, just the truth in why I said what I said…I have made a lot of mistakes in my life. I have to answer to God for my many mistakes and I pray that you and your loved ones can find it in your heart to forgive me for the hurt and pain that my actions caused to you all. I have lost many people dear to me throughout my life so I am sympathetic to your lost. I am not the same man today that I was 10 years ago and as the man that I am today, I felt the need to reach out to you and your family to offer my condolences with hope that it can help you find some closure in some form or fashion. I now understand that my actions has also had a dramatic impact on my families lives as well, most importantly my daughters. Again I sincerely apologize for what role I played in this situation. God Bless you and your family.
Sincerely Edward Lang
Matthew 6:14-15

Leave a Reply

